APC Convention: Full List Of Consensus Candidates


The All Progressives Congress has released the list of consensus candidates for it’s National Executive Committee positions to be ratified through voting at the on-going National Convention of the party in Abuja.

When rstified, they would form the National Executive Committee and National Working Committee of the party.

The Caretaker/Extraordinary Convention Planning Committee would immediately ceased to exist after the convention.

Read Also: Avoid distractions, keep your eyes on the ball, president Buhari tells APC leaders, members 

According to the list, a former governor of Nasarawa State, Senator Abdullahi Adamu, would emerge National Chairman while Senator Iyiola Omisore (Osun State) would be National Secretary.

However, a former Minister of Communication, Mr Adebayo Shittu, stands in the way of Omisore as he has refused to step down.

Senator Abubakar Kyari (Borno State) would be Deputy National Chairman (North) while Mr Emma Eneukwu (Enugu) would be Deputy National Chairman (South).

Eneukwu replaced former Senate President Ken Nnamani.

read more

Buni Dismisses Report Of Removal, Says ‘I’m Still In Charge Of APC

Against reports that President Muhammadu Buhari had approved his sack as Caretaker Chairman of the All Progressives Congress, APC, Mala Buni has said he remains in charge of the party.

Buni in a statement signed by Mr John Akpanudoedehe, the Secretary Caretaker/Extraordinary Convention Planning Committee (CECPC) said the reports were false.

According to him, there’s no leadership change in the party.

Refering to the news as “sponsored media reports on an imaginary leadership change”, he said the report “should be disregarded.”

He noted that the APC is a progressive political party guided by rules, therefore, “Leadership changes are not announced by ‘sources’ through name dropping.”

Read Also: Buhari fired Mai-mala buni, asked niger state governor to take over as party chairman 

Governor Abubakar Sani Bello of Niger State had led a meeting attended by a highly placed minister on Sunday and Governors Kayode Fayemi (Ekiti), Atiku Bagudu (Kebbi), Simon Lalong (Plateau), and Badaru Abubakar (Jigawa) to carry out the mandate of the president.

Later today, a meeting of the National Executive Committee of the party called by Bello is expected to hold barring last minute changes.

read more